The Academic Department

The Vice-President for Academic Affairs chairs the Academic Department. The Department includes the Faculty of Technology & Applied Sciences, the Faculty of Agriculture, the Faculty of Social & Family Development, the Faculty of Economics & Administrative Sciences, the Faculty of Educational Sciences, the Faculty of Media, the Faculty of Arts, Deanship of Scientific Research, Deanship of Graduate Studies, Deanship of Admission, Registration & Examinations, Curriculum & Courses Department, Libraries Department, Open Learning Center and Continuing Education & Community Service Center.

Study System
The University adopts the open learning system, which enables students to access education regardless of where they reside. Through this system, students can combine between education and work, and adapt their study plan in accordance with their circumstances. Open learning is based on self-learning and on the independency of the learner, in addition to the use of multi-media comprising written, audio, visual and electronic to enable the students to access text materials wherever they are. The University applies the credit hours' system as well as required /selective courses' method.
Recently, QOU adopted the Blended-Learning system that combines e-Learning with the face to face learning system.

The academic year is divided into:

  1. First semester consists of 16 weeks
  2. Second semester consists of 16 weeks
  3. Summer course consists of 12 weeks
Language of Instruction

The language of instruction is Arabic, while some courses might be taught in English based on a recommendation from the Academic Council and a decision taken by the University Council.

The Academic Council

The main task of the Academic Council is to develop the general academic policy and to evaluate and develop academic affairs at the University. The Council applies the University's laws, regulations and instructions for granting the academic degrees. It is responsible for the evaluation of programs and academic specializations, quality assurance of the academic process, following-up the production of courses, issuing the annual University manual and recommending workshops and conferences in addition to other tasks.

The current Academic Council consists of:
Prof. Husni Awad Vice President for Academic Affairs Chairman
Prof. Majdi Zamel Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs Vice-Chair / General Secretary
Dr. Ra’fat Judeh Vice President for Gaza Strip Affairs Member
Dr. Salameh Salem Dean of Student Affairs Member
Eng. Saada Shalabi Director of Information & Communication Technology Center Member
Dr. Khalil Erekat Dean of Admission, Registration & ; Member
Prof. Mohammed Shahin Dean of Graduate Studies Member
Prof. Jamal Ibrahim Dean of Scientific Research Member
Dr. Zaher Haneni Dean of Faculty of Arts Member
Dr. Nabil Al-Mughrabi Dean of Faculty of Educational Sciences Member
Dr. Abdel Rahman AL-Silwadi Dean of Faculty of Administrative and Economic Sciences Member
Dr. Ameed Bader Dean of Faculty of Social and Family Development Member
Dr. Eng. Nael Abu Al-Halaweh Dean of Faculty of Technology and Applied Sciences Member
Dr. Maen Sheqwarah Dean of Faculty of Agriculture Member
Mr. Ammar Jumhur Dean of Faculty of Media Member
Dr. Noor Al-Aqra’ Director of Salfeet Branch Member
Mr. Jasser Khalil Acting Director of Planning and Quality Department Member
Dr. Mohammad Abu Elbah Academic Assistant/Qalqilya Member
Ms. Randa Ghuneim Totah Director of Curricula and Textbooks Department Member
Mr. Mahmoud Hawamdeh Director of Open Learning Center Member
Dr. Atif Asouli Faculty Member Member
Dr. Hatem Hussein Faculty Member Member
Mr. Mohammad Kassab Regional Student Council Member